PDA

View Full Version : Controversial Questions??

coralreefer68
06-29-2011, 01:28 PM
Good Morning all,
As you can see from my number of posts, I am new here. I have been cruising around for about 3-4 months to get information on Discus because I want to give them the best opportunity to survive and thrive that I can. Yes I am new to Discus, but I am not new to keeping fish, both fresh and salt. My questions are regarding the different information that I read here, some of which is contradictory, some seems to be outdated and some seems to be rather focused more on personal preference rather than objectiveness. As a new Discus keeper I have gained some valuable information on this site as well as finding what seems to be the best breeders/sellers of discus anywhere on the net. As I live in an area that is almost impossible to find discus (Northern NC), the net was about my only option for buying nice healthy discus with any sort of variety. So, to my questions...
1) I have been told to go BB several times and my PB based fish (Blue Pigeon, Red Pigeon and Marlboro Red ?) peppering would decrease or go away completely, but the RP and the MR arrived with peppering already and came from Hans who has BB tanks I assume, so how would BB tanks help? I have drift wood, live plants and a few dark rocks as well as a light blue (water) background with a play sand substrate that is off-white. I have seen other tanks in the planted tanks forum similar to my tank in appearance, with PBs that are not peppered, so is going BB to reduce peppering fact or conjecture??
2) There seems to be some prejudice against PB based Discus, yet a lot of the sellers here do seem to sell PB based fish, so why does it seem they are frowned upon?? From reading as many posts as I can, I know they tend to pepper and some do so worse than others, yet they are beautiful and seem to be an integral part of the Discus genetic pool. Is there a prejudice against PB based fish and if so, why?