PDA

View Full Version : Please critique my stocklist

STL_Cardinal
07-28-2011, 04:53 AM
Hi everyone-- first post! I'm fairly new to discus and plants with about a month of keeping discus and six months experience keeping plants. Currently, I feed 3-8x a day with a daily wc of 50%. Could I please get some critiques/comments on my stocklist? I am particularly interested in what you all think of the bio-load on the tank, especially when they all become adults? The distributor that I got them from said I would have to do a minimum of 2WC <20% a week as adults -- does that sound about right?

Fauna:
6 juvenile Stendker Discus (two 3", four 4")
2 juvenile angelfish (I eventually plan to give one to a friend and keep just one)
16 cardinal tetras
20 nerite snails
2 harlequin rasboras
2 BN plecos
1 swordfish
2 platies

Tank Specs:
- 75g, heavily planted
- Rena Xp1, Rena Xp2 cannister filters
- Eco-complete substrate
- 4 T5HO bulbs x 54W (WPG 2.88)
- CO2 reg, tank, and reactor
- UV sterilizer

Thanks in advance for your time and consideration! Looking forward to hearing what you all think...

-Paul

scottthomas
07-28-2011, 08:53 AM
Sounds like a nice tank. Pretty crowded for a 76 gal planted tank when all are adults IMO. Just be sure to maintain water quality with lots of water changes. I also overstock, but I do large daily water changes and have semi automated system and bb so not as much labor involved as you may have. Good luck and share some photos please.

walan20
07-28-2011, 09:14 AM
WOW, that's ALOT of fish in a 75 gallon!!! But I like it :)

STL_Cardinal
07-28-2011, 01:55 PM
Sounds like a nice tank. Pretty crowded for a 76 gal planted tank when all are adults IMO. Just be sure to maintain water quality with lots of water changes. I also overstock, but I do large daily water changes and have semi automated system and bb so not as much labor involved as you may have. Good luck and share some photos please.