PDA

View Full Version : Truly amazing! I've had my fish for a month and they are already laying eggs!

STL_Cardinal
07-30-2011, 03:24 PM
So I noticed today while feeding that the two largest of my sub-adults were being extremely territorial to the other four. Then, to my shock and dismay, I discovered that they are guarding some eggs on my driftwood! The pair are a Fire Red and pigeon blood red. This is my first time keeping discus. They were purchased with four other discus a month ago as sub-adults and I didn't think they they were old enough to breed?? They are only 4.5"-5" in TL and according to the distributor I got them from, roughly 4-6 months old. Are mine stunted or did they just start early? Pictures are below.

I have a 75g heavily planted tank, 50 daily wc straight from the tap. This is my first time keeping discus and I was just trying to keep them alive and grow them out. But I guess I'm doing something right... :D

ExReefer
07-30-2011, 03:52 PM
That's a good question. I feel like your fish could be stunted only because the same thing happened to me. I bought some 4-4.5" discus from a reputable SD sponsor and within two weeks they paired off and laid eggs. I feel like 4-4.5" is too small to be spawning so they must sent me stunted fish by accident. I'm sure it happens sometimes.

strawberryblonde
07-30-2011, 05:42 PM
I have a 4" discus laying eggs. It's not common, but not that uncommon either. The good part is that so long as you keep feeding them and leave them in the community tank they can continue to grow out. Probably won't be the biggest fish in the tank, but should still reach a nice adult size.

Your pics look like totally normal fish, not stunted at all, but still young. The Marlboro is still light orange in color and doesn't have his adult white/red markings yet. =)

DLock3d
07-30-2011, 06:43 PM
They don't look stunted to me!

wendy9722
07-30-2011, 07:00 PM
They don't look stunted to me!

+1

STL_Cardinal
07-31-2011, 02:03 AM