PDA

View Full Version : Cardinal tetra death

msharper
08-19-2011, 07:37 AM
Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum and have been reading all kinds of threads and learning as I go. Great wealth of information on here! I am in the process of setting up my first discus tank and of course have made my life more difficult by attempting a planted community tank.:)
I have been running the tank for about three months (cycling) I first started with guppies, 20, just for the cycle and then increased the water temp. to get ready for Discus. A week ago today I returned the guppies to my supplier and purchased 25 Cardinal tetras. I had done a 30% water change before putting them in the tank and I just did another 30% water change yesterday. Almost instantly two Cardinals started swimming at the surface and I knew death was coming soon. When I woke up this morning 3 Cardinals were dead. The remaining 22 seem normal and healthy. My first thought was something wrong that I had not noticed when I first purchased them. ????? I purchase from a very reputable supplier who QT's all there live stock for 2 weeks before selling, so I question that logic. I am not new to the hobby and was doing a water change as usual. i.e. "PRIME", matching water temp. etc. My PH is 7.4 in the tank and 7.4 from the tap. Could Cardinal Tetras be sensitive to something else, KH, GH ??? Does anyone have a clue. I don't want anything like that happening with the Discus and it's for that reason I am starting out slow with the Cardinals and some Corys. And working out any kinks in my set up.
Thanks to anyone who could help me out.

TURQ64
08-19-2011, 07:50 AM
Welcome..To answer a question, yes, hardness does matter..Many believe that TDS is more important than PH...I generally try to match my TDS, and then plop the fish without worry too much about PH...my ph elevates with an increase in TDS. Perhaps you should fill out the sticky questionaire in the 'sickness' section..Gary