PDA

View Full Version : Some questions on Ro and HMA water

rorie87
08-19-2011, 04:33 PM
Hi there,

I am trying to breed discus, but my TDS is way to high. So i just got an RO system (arrived today) to lower the TDS in my water. It is a 3 stage RO system.

I am very new to Ro and HMA, so am looking for help.

1) I understand i cannot just add RO water during a water change, but need to mix it with 'normal' water. I believe this is due to lost minerals? I bought a Discus Ro Mineral replacement solution. Does that mean i could add 100% RO water during a water change?

2) Depending on the answer above obviously - I may need to add a percentage of tap water dechlorinated. My huge tub of dechlorinator is running out, so i am looking for a replacement. HMA? I know RO will dechlorinate my water, but as will and HMA. So what is the difference? If i get an HMA system, i was thinking i could run it to give me 'just dechlorinated water' and mix that with my RO (so its not 100% RO). Does that work? Any difference - positive or negative - to using HMA to give dechlorinated water rather than just a dech. solution?

3) When the RO water comes out the RO system, i also believe i need to let it sit for a while and aerate it? What is this about?

4) I hear with RO water it brings the water back to its original state, which makes it easier to 'change' into the water you want. For example a set PH level. How do you do this? I have solutions i use in tap water to lower the PH before adding to an aquarium (to 6.2) so is it just the same hting with RO?

Thank syou very much in advance :)

TURQ64
08-19-2011, 04:42 PM
1. you can use RO with or without minerals; depends on the fish
2.I don't know what HMA is...
3.no need to sit, or aeriate it.
4. with buffers, but this leads to ph shifts.

Ronald
08-20-2011, 03:54 AM
Ok lets see,

To get the TDS down you just need to cut it with Tap. Try 50% R/O with 50% tap and measure after an hour or so. Adjust according your goal up or down.