PDA

View Full Version : been a long-time lurker, finally thinking about just getting discus for first time

LazyBones
09-30-2011, 05:13 PM
Hey there:

I've been doing plecos/catfish for many years now. Spawned several types of cichlids over the years but got rid of them to give priority of the tanks to the plecos/catfish I have kept.

Now that I've decided to completely downsize the number of tanks/bottom dwellers are on their way out and I am keeping 2-3 tanks and converting them into showpiece tanks.

I am seriously considering keeping a wild strain of discus maybe 4-6 if they don't pair off but if they do I'll just keep the pair , yet have not decided on which wild ones I want to give a go with.

The tankmates will be probably L134s and L183s which I already have decided to keep. I will be spiltting the plecos into different tanks. I have too big of a colony of L134s and need to spilt them up.

One tank is not a possiblity for any of my plecos to go into its clown loach tank. Nothing but clown loaches and congo tetras.
The other tank is too cool for discus at 78 degrees, it will be for the Jaguar catfish and some L134s and L183s

This discus tank will have maybe 8 adult L134s and 3-4 of L183s. Will have branchy driftwood and some floating plants for feel of security as well as some hardy plants.

Any thoughts/feedbacks?

discuspaul
09-30-2011, 06:11 PM
What size tank will you be keeping your plecos and discus together in, and what is the current size of those plecos ?
This MAY be a factor to reckon with.
Many plecos are compatible with discus, particularly BNP's, but I would suggest you perhaps do a little research as to whether L134s and L183s are fully compatible.
I've not kept plecos with discus, but I understand a little caution may be required regarding some plecos which may be more spirited, and if of a large size, may tend to stress your wilds.