PDA

View Full Version : Cycling the Tank

kikuko793
10-26-2011, 07:13 PM
I'm new here. Hopefully, someday I can have either a planted comminity discus tank or a hybrid discus tank. I've had limited experience in keeping fish, so I want to take my time to do lots of research, get appropriate equipment, and take this in baby steps. I'm planning on getting the tankmates for the discus (cardinal tetras, rummy nose tetras, and an ancistrus catfish) and taking care of them, performing water changes and maintaining appropriate water chemistry as if I already had the discus. Then, one I've mastered that, I'd get some discus fish.

Now, I have a couple of questions about cycling the tank. I know that basically when you're cycling the tank you are getting beneficial bacteria to colonize the filter. If you're using the household ammonia method where do the bacteria come from? Tap water is chlorinated until you add water conditioner. Are there bacteria in it anyway? Are they on the sides of the tank? Do they come from the air? One of my friends (who has a saltwater aquarium) had never heard of using ammonia and told me that the only way to cycle an aquarium besides using live fish is to put a piece of shrimp in the tank to rot.

Once you get done cycling your tank, I read that you need to add ammonia to feed the bacteria until you add fish. If I'm going to only add tetras and an ancistrus catfish at first so I can save room for the discus fish, is there a certain number of fish I should add so that they produce enough waste to feed the bacteria colony?

MPETERS
10-26-2011, 08:21 PM
Hi,

I am new to discus also, however, have been keeping both fresh and salt water fish for quite a few years now. I have never heard of using ammonia to cycle a tank. It will be interesting to hear if others have.

Mike

Skip
10-26-2011, 08:37 PM
ammonia is FISHLESS CYCLING.. lots of people do it.. some just throw in flake food.. and let decay..