PDA

View Full Version : Newbie!!

agamble
11-02-2011, 07:49 PM
:) Hello! I am a newbie (obviously, by the post title)... I recently began a 90 gallon planted tank, about 6 months ago, from scratch. Didn't even know what a planted tank was, I just wanted to "easily" fill a space in my home and quickly became obsessed (lol, husband now things I'm certifiably crazy) I started adding plants and angelfish, making mistakes as I went, lost some fish, killed some plants, flooded my house a few times *haha*
I added DIY c02 that made my plants go wild. Never had a heater, but the water stayed at 78. Have a t5 with a pinkish flora light. Marine land canister filter. Have always done lots of water changes to keep it clear and happy, our water is naturally soft but I still use bottled periodically. The angels paired off and started nesting, turned into complete little jerks and killed almost everything around them. The shrimp started multiplying like rabbits, and even the neon tetras started throwing eggs around but the fish ate all of them. A few plants started flowering at the top of the tank... Everything looked good so I dedided to change gears. I hauled off the angels to somewhere more suitable, and then I found a discus specialty store called Jo Jo Aquarium in Sacramento. Yesterday was the big day I had planned for.. I brought home 3 gorgeous juvenile discus, they are about 3 or 4 inches and absolutely stunning. I hope I can be successful at this. I would like to post pics and get some advice and critiques from you all... I do have 3 questions:

1) what temp should I keep my tank at in order to keep the discus happy and the plants? (it's about 84 right now but I don't know if my plants can last long with that, can they?)

2) How do I post pictures on a forum?