PDA

View Full Version : Gravel ok?

mr.wen
11-05-2011, 04:43 PM
Can gravel be used as a substrate? I know bare bottom is preferred but really like the natural look. If I go to sand can I make the change with full tank ? Don't want to empty it already cycled just making the switch to discus. Thank you

lane mechtel
11-05-2011, 04:49 PM
I Have Used gravel in the past but very little 1/2'" deep, BB or sand is better for a clean tank. I now use 1/2" sand and it is alot eaiser to keep clean.

mr.wen
11-05-2011, 05:06 PM
What type of sand do you use?

PleiadesSTi
11-05-2011, 05:08 PM
I use gravel. Make sure you vacuum it once a week at least.

judy
11-05-2011, 06:09 PM
The finest gravel you can get would be best. The coarser the gravel, the more gunk it traps. And keep it well vacuumed.

MPETERS
11-05-2011, 06:31 PM
Hi,

I am new to this also. Most have said use pool filter sand. Some use gravel. If you use sand make sure you wash it well before putting in the tank.

Luck,
Mike

PleiadesSTi
11-05-2011, 08:23 PM
Here me out. Since sand particles are small and fit together closely with very little air space in between each particle as compared to gravel then wouldn't it be logical to assume that sand would have more issues with anaerobic bacteria as compared to gravel?

judy
11-05-2011, 09:34 PM
Anaerobic bacteria are not really an issue either in sand or gravel if the sand or gravel bed are kept properly vacuumed. Only when there is a major, major buildup of crud combined with zero oxygenated conditions will you get serious anaerobic pockets. In a heavily planted tank, plant roots take care of the gravel bed's oxygen issues. In a tank where there is just a thin substrate, the aquarist takes care of it by cleaning properly. Thin substrates are very unlikely in any event to build up such pockets. The concern over anaerobic bacteria was really not much more than a marketing tool, IMO, to convince people to buy undergravel filters in years gone by.

Darrell Ward