PDA

View Full Version : food.......

shoveltrash
11-07-2011, 08:23 PM
I just have a quick *newbie question* for you all.....when I see photos of people hand-feeding their Discus, what exactly are they feeding???

as previously mentioned, I'm new to Discus, and before finding this forum I purchased 2 4" PBs from a LFS. I'm worried now that they're stunted (been reading too much!), and want to provide the optimum nutrition requirements. I think the LFS only fed flakes though, because it seems that is ALL they are interested in :(.
"nutrition" is such a huge topic. makes my head spin!
(I did however just order some Prime Reef flakes per recommendations here!)
thx in advance!

edited to add: just got a reply on Kenny's "Nov 2011 Forrest shipment" thread....bloodworms? live? can they be ordered and shipped? I KNOW my LFS doesn't carry those! ARG

Bill63SG
11-07-2011, 08:41 PM
From what little I know,no to the bloodworms.Little nutritional value.Your probably seeing blackworms,freezdried or frozen,or beefheart.I also use a variety of flakes from Ken's.Sponser on here.

Skip
11-07-2011, 08:43 PM
you feed them anything you can hold in your fingers.. :)

ericatdallas
11-07-2011, 09:57 PM
Freeze-dried bloodworms and beefheart have worked for me.

This might sound cheesy, but IMO, it takes a little bit of trust too.

It's not just the food, it's almost the relationship.They used to eat BH out of my hand. I used to be able to scoop them out of the tank with my hand.

I raised them from 1" size though. They stopped doing it after I moved them to the basement. I think the move spooked them and also they don't see me as much as they used to.

edited to add: just got a reply on Kenny's "Nov 2011 Forrest shipment" thread....bloodworms? live? can they be ordered and shipped? I KNOW my LFS doesn't carry those! ARG

Maybe you should order blackworms instead? Most people here prefer them and they're not larvae so you don't have to worry about them turning into insects.

jlcoop277