PDA

View Full Version : Trying to get started.......

Dano22
11-17-2011, 04:49 PM
Hey all first time poster, so i've had a tank for about a year now and im wanting to switch to discus. the tank im using is a 26 gallon bow front. it'll be planted with grow lights and a co2 system. just wondering how i should get into discus, do i start small and grow some out or do i try to find mature fish? how many should i keep? any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Dano

MPETERS
11-17-2011, 05:03 PM
Hi Dano,

Welcome aboard. I am new to discus myself and fould it very helpful to read "stichy" at the beginning of this section. It is recommend that most new people do not try and grow out small discus. You should plan on about 10 gal. of tank water per fish.

Mike

Skip
11-17-2011, 05:12 PM
fish 4" or larger are more forgiving of mistakes by owners.. but cost more..

smaller fish are more prone to take mistakes MORE SERIOUS (death or stunted) then larger fish but are cheaper

larger may cost more up front.. BUT will come out cheaper in the end with Time, Money, Growth, Beauty..

ps.. i grow out almost 20 1" fish in a 30 gallon until they were about 3".. i may not do that again.. but its possible with lots of water changes and quality foods.. the 1" per 10 gallon is a good rule for Adult 5" to 7" fish.. but you can fudge that with smaller fish and good water quality..

ps.. start with QUALITY FISH from a Sponsor.. you will not be sorry!!!!

DiscusOnly
11-17-2011, 05:13 PM
Welcome to SD.

To be quite honest. The 26gal tank is not going to be a good fit for discus (especially since it's planted tank).

Skip
11-17-2011, 05:14 PM
Welcome to SD.

To be quite honest. The 26gal tank is not going to be a good fit for discus (especially since it's planted tank).

yes.. my bad.. forgot that part.. go BAREBOTTOM to grow Small ones.. Larger ones ok..

Dano22
11-17-2011, 05:22 PM
Welcome to SD.