PDA

View Full Version : New wilds with clamped fins

NRR
12-04-2011, 05:18 AM
Hello! I'm new to simplydiscus, though I have been reading the forum for a while. I'm from Finland, so excuse my weak english.

I have a 200gal slightly planted tank, with 2 hystrix ray. It has been running for like 3 months or something. I have been intrested in keeping wild discus with the rays and did some research on the topic. I found out that the combination might be succesfull, if the size difference wouldn't be to big. So two weeks ago I acquired my first wild discus, 5 nhamunda blue ones. Didn't QT them myself (I know, should have done it..), becouse my quarantine tank was in the use of a few domestic ones and didn't want to mix them. I have a really reliable LFS-seller who is quite an expert when it comes to keeping discus. Fortunately he had allready quaranteed the fish.

So the discus came and seemed to be okay with the rays and their new home, they even started to eat the same evening. The water parameters are ph 6, gh 4, kh 3, nitrates kept in 5-10, nitrites and ammonia 0, temperature 82F. Waterchanges about 30% everyother day. Everythig seemed fine though I was thinking of getting a few more, 'cos I've heard that wild discus don't thrive to well in small groups. So I went back and got 6 Nanay Green discus. They were actually held in another tank with ph of around 7,5.. They came and the first evening they seemed fine, also eating already. Also the blue ones were a lot more active with their new tankmates. This was 5 days ago. The first two days went nicely, but the day before yesterday all the new greens had their fins clamped.. I just thought that wasn't something to get worried about, just the result of the stress of transport and the lower ph of the new tank.