PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice- Sick Discus

missdiscus
12-06-2011, 01:19 AM
Hello-

I am new to the Discus world and even upon researching this breed, had no idea how complicated and picky they are. They are absolutely stunning fish and I would love to have them but not sure if I am cut out for it.

My current situation:

I have a 45 gallon with a 4-5 inch blue diamond and a 3-4 inch red dragon. I recently had two other discus die that were smaller, one came in the mail (big mistake) and the other from LFS. Both of them stopped eating one day and never ate again and wasted away.

I have been having MAJOR ISSUES with my PH. My PH is always high. I have done substrate changes thinking it was that...twice. Now I have a bare bottom. I took out media from my filter thinking that was causing it. Now I only have biowheels in my fluval and in my over the tank filter I have a sponge and a water softener pillow that I have to recharge every two days. I have a piece of driftwood, several potted plants, and a fake piece of wood for them to hide in...thats it. I have an air bubble thing and two heaters.

My temp is approx 86-89, I have been upping it since they have been sick....this is what I am reading online but not sure if its right.

My water from the tap is hard and the softener pillow does not seem to help that much. I was using Mardel Live PH to monitor my ph, only to find out it was totally off and my PH was 7.6 when I thought it was 6.5. I know it is horrible! I took some water to Petsmart and found out. I have put Seachem Acid Buffer in over the last 2 days and my PH is now 7.0-7.2. It keeps trying to go back up so I have to keep adding this. I am now using the PH dropper test kit twice a day. I also did a water exchange..took out like 3 gallons or so and put 2 gallons of CaribSea Ready-Water.

Some other info as of yesterday:

Ammonia- .25-.5 (put ammo-lock in tonight)
Nitrite-0
Nitrate-40
Alkalinity= 20 ( I know this is a problem don't know how to fix it)