PDA

View Full Version : Converting a tank

Fishyfry
12-16-2011, 10:59 AM
Hey all, I'm new to SD. I've had a fascination with Discus for as long as I could remember, but I shied away from starting a tank for them because they seemed like such a beautiful delicate fish...And I was fairly new in the aquaria hobby. I keep right now a 75gal mbuna cichlid tank. I have a shell/rock mix for substrate, would Discus be ok with that sort of substrate? Or would I need to rip it all out and start new?
I do like my African cichlids, but they are way too aggressive, and its very difficult to add tank mates ( most don't last the first night). Do Discus mind if the aquarium is filled with fake plants? Or is planted "needed".

My filtration are two Rena canisters ( xp2 and xp1).

Any insight will help. I do really want to switch over to have a couple of these in the tank. More friendly fish in the tank just seems so much more appealing then cichlids.

Thanks guys and gals =)

Skip
12-16-2011, 11:09 AM
get rid of the shell/rock substrate.. start new,

you will be new.. spray paint the bottom (outside not inside) glass with a light color of your choice..

discus don't have fingers so they can't tell fake from real plants.. but with no substrate.. you can put plants in terra cotta pots with some gravel to hold them in..

as long as the filters are rated for that size tank no problem..

filler up with water, get PRIME.. and tank is ready..

the hard part my new friend..

is where the H*LL to get the fish.. WHICH ONES TO PICK!!!

i recommend fish at least 4".. but you will need at least 6... if not, they tend to be shy and unhappy..

welcome to SD!

ps.. use google for whatever subject on discus you need to know.. then add SIMPLY DISCUS to the End of it.. thats do all the time..

"best flake food for discus SIMPLY DISCUS"

thats just an example.. but it helps to find threads on what you may want to know.. INSTEAD of waiting for a post to appear.. so it helps

Chad Hughes