PDA

View Full Version : New LED lights

architect1
12-22-2011, 09:48 PM
I have been looking for an affordable way to grow plants in my tank with out using florescent or dealing with big al's. I Used 100 watt comparable energy efficient light that twists I forget the name so please excuse me. lol

I have been using them for about 2 years and get the same growth as the regular hood lights. Now the light that I just bought because I have a store credit at a local lighting shop is an northern star LED lamp PAR38 model 80462 12W 120V FL/NFL. Now there not yellow there a cool white and the guy at the store said there about 5000+ kelvin and 900 lumen, not 100% sure which one. My question is, will these lights work? Or did i just waste 80$? LOL

Skip
12-22-2011, 11:47 PM
Par 38 is what reefers use for corals..

architect1
12-22-2011, 11:52 PM
OH no, that's not a good thing is it? heres a pic and the web site. http://www.awlight.com/product.asp?p...ducts&id=bu702

Skip
12-22-2011, 11:54 PM
If its good for corals.. It will be fine for plants.. U may need to play with distance off surface.. Remember it has a narrow beam of light

architect1
12-22-2011, 11:56 PM
Oh ok thats not so scary yeah I bought 1 to see before I bought the other 2 Its for a 100g tall and I have it a 1 foot or a foot and a half off the top of the glass.

Now what kind of growth would i see? is it a good light? Have you used them?

Orange Crush
12-23-2011, 01:03 AM
Some experts have said that LED is good for plants others have said it is not. I think the jury is still out on long term use of LED with plants since it is relatively new to the market.

Let us know how it goes if you buy it.

If corals are animals and plants are well, plants; I wonder how what is good for one is good enough for the other in terms of wavelength? I heard actinic is not good for plant photosynthesis.

architect1
12-23-2011, 01:11 AM