PDA

View Full Version : Ok to mix Cories?

Aquaholic
01-04-2012, 11:34 AM
Hey everyone I'm new to this lifestyle and am thankful for access to such a vast aquarium knowledge base.
I appreciate everyone on this site, and aspire to become a great aquarist someday.

I currently own a 45gallon DW and semi planted tank with 5 Discus, 2 SAE's, 2 Neons and 4 Cardinals.
I now know, thanks to this site, that my tank is too small for my discus and plan on upgrading to either a 150gal or 180gal in the future.
I also know that my tetra combo is a bit unusual with 2 neons and 4 cardinals. I originally started out with 10 neons, but unfortunately 8 didnt make it. I believe it was due to the tank not being fully cycled... Then I found this site and was informed that cardinals are better tankmates with Discus and decided to get a few to try it out.

So far the tetras have been doin great and I am planning on getting 2 more neons to balance out the group/mix, which leads me to my next thought...

Has anyone tried mixing Cories???
I would love to have a school of 6 cories, not sure if I may be pushing the tank load too much but hope that their scavenger behaviors counteracts the bioload via waste control.
The problem is I just cant decide on a single species of cories. Sterbais, Adolfois, and emerald greens catch my interest.

Can I not have them all???

I would love to have 2 of each, or even 3 of 2 species... 6 total

Does anyone see a problem with this?
Has anyone mixed cories in a single tank before?
Can these species of cories all thrive in a water temp of 86F?
Do you think 6 cories are too many for my tank?

Tank Setup: (Running for 4 months now)
45 gallon 36"x12"x24" tank
Fluval 305 full with ceramic biomedia, no carbon
Deep Blue Sponge on Fluval intake tube
1 Airstone
1inch layer of White Pool Filter sand substrate
Driftwood with anubius
3 bannana plants
Temp 86 F
Ammonia 0.25 (Can't seem to get 0 reading with API test kit)
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0

Soon to be in tank: