PDA

View Full Version : Discus peppering - yay or nay?

mojie
01-11-2012, 08:44 PM
Hi

I'm relatively new to discus but am loving them. I've read a lot on the forum re peppering on pigeon bloods. Having bought a couple of pb's with a little peppering that I quite like - I was wondering what the big deal is? Why is peppering perceived so negatively? Is it that a little peppering is supposed to be nice, but that a lot takes away from the main coloration of the fish? Or - is it just a matter of personal opinion?

Cheers

warblad79
01-11-2012, 09:01 PM
its just a matter of preferences, but for me I don't personally like PB due to peppering, I'm a spotted fish guy.

Dennis The Mennis
01-11-2012, 10:07 PM
It is a preference thing. I like the pepering on PB's as long as it isn't too heavy.

ShinShin
01-11-2012, 11:44 PM
Actually, it is a quality thing. PB's were full of soot in the beginning. It took a lot of selective breeding to get a really clean PB on the market. That's why many people cringe when they see some of the pairings people are throwing together today by those that don't know the history of discus.

Mat

damba
01-12-2012, 06:49 AM
I like pbs. They are nice colourful fish. My pair are pretty spot free.http://img.tapatalk.com/b26e9284-ba9b-5170.jpg

Sent from my GT-I5800 using Tapatalk

Squidman
01-12-2012, 12:11 PM
A nice pigeon can be beautiful. These are two new ones I got from Kenny. However, I would think a splattering of black spots would detract from their overall appearance. But at the end of the day, if you like the peppering on yours, that's really all that should matter. There are plenty of "show" quality fish that don't do a thing for me, everyone has their preferences.

http://i329.photobucket.com/albums/l362/BatBucket27/Discus/DSC_0314-1.jpg

http://i329.photobucket.com/albums/l362/BatBucket27/Discus/DSC_0308-1.jpg

typicalalex1
01-12-2012, 12:57 PM