PDA

View Full Version : New in Keeping Discus

maruf
02-02-2012, 05:38 AM
Hi

I am new in keeping discus.

I have 4 pairs of Leopard snake skin discus, size: 4.5 to 5 Inches. Now I am keeping them in a 5 feet by 2 feet by 2 feet tank. I would like to move them in 3.5 feet by 18inch by 2 feet tank. Will that be okay? The capacity of the tank would be 75 Gallons.. 9 gallon per fish.

Very Basic Set up, Bare bottom, 2 sponge filters, Clean the bottom wastage everyday, 10% water change daily, 50% weekly, Tepm: 28 to 30 degrees, Morning diet: Brine Shrimp, Night diet: Tetra Bits.. Please let me know if you require any further information.

Regards
Maruf

judy
02-02-2012, 02:01 PM
No. It will not be okay. Keep them in the larger tank, BB. Skip the brine shrimp. Feed freeze-dried blackworms instead, and vary the diet with other foods: beefheart flake, for instance.
And make those daily WCs larger.

steakman
02-02-2012, 07:29 PM
maruf,
It should be ok as long as you keep the WCs more often and larger amount per change. I'd do 70% 2 times/week.
The only draw back is fighting for territories during spawn.
You can add more varieties to their diet as judy mentioned because frozen brine shrimp has very little nutrition value.
Hope it'll help

Cevoe
02-03-2012, 09:10 AM
The 75 would be ok but you are right on the edge, especially if you are looking for pairing.
If you up the amount of water being changed and continue to treat them as grow-outs you would probably squeeze more size out of them.
Both Judy and Steakman make real good points so I would take some advice from both of them.
Put them in the larger tank, skip the brine shrimp and increase the water changes a little.
Also, with eight fish and those two tanks it sounds like you could get even more discus.
If you move them to the larger tank do you plan on putting any more in the 75?

maruf
02-03-2012, 03:00 PM
Dear All