PDA

View Full Version : How much salt is too much salt?

Sasha
02-03-2012, 02:24 PM
I have a single 5 inch Red Scribbelt discus in a 10 gallon quarantine tank. He's eating well and acting normal other than occasionally turning dark and flashing against the filter box that hangs into the tank. He has a slight greyish hue on his skin, a spot smaller than a penny,located just under the fin that runs along the top of his body. The greyish hue is only seen when he turns in a certain direction (I can't see it when I have a full side view of the fish). He also occasionally has some fine, translucent thread-like strings that drift off of his body. One of two of these almost mucous like strings can be seen floating freely through the water column. It's almost as if he is shedding off some of his slime coat, which seems to congeal into these translucent strings.

I recently got a microscope and did a skin scraping and a gill scraping. While I'm new at evaluating the slides, I did not see much of anything moving in those scrapes. However, when I scoped one of the translucent strings, I saw a couple varieties of ciliates, albeit in very low numbers. One ciliate I was able to identify as Euplotes. I have also witnessed what I think is Tetrahymena when I scoped tank detrius.

I administered QuickCure according to the package directions, and I have seen some improvement (improved color, fewer periods of turning dark, and lessened frequency of flashing). However, he is still flashing, and I have the issue of the occasional, floating string like material.

I'd like to move him back into the main tank as soon as possible, but want to address the issue of the flashing. Since the QuickCure was only partially effective, and because it messes with the biological system, I am thinking of using a salt treatment.