PDA

View Full Version : Lighting question. Please help!!

jarsofkimchee
02-07-2012, 05:29 AM
I just swapped my old flickering t8 fixture with a new 320watt t5HO fixture on my 100 gallon planted tank. After a water change today I noticed that 2 of my discus started breathing at a more rapid rate, so I checked my water parameters and my pH read 6.8! Before switching to this t5HO fixture, my pH was kept at a constant 7.6! I am guessing this decrease in pH is due to the high output t5's. I do not run CO2 in this tank. What should I do? Any advice? I am a newb to planted tanks/high output lighting. Also, will this decrease in pH swing back up tomorrow after the dark/night photoperiod? Thank you for your help!

pcsb23
02-07-2012, 05:47 AM
I would suspect the change water and not the lights.

More light means the plants could grow faster provided there are no other limiting factors. Faster growth consumes CO2 from the water so if anything the pH will rise and not fall, this is why we add CO2 in high light tanks, as it very quickly becomes the limiting factor - i.e. it gets used faster than it can dissolve from the atmosphere.

Basically during the day plants use CO2 and produce oxygen, during the night they use oxygen and produce CO2 so over night, if anything the pH will fall.

jarsofkimchee
02-07-2012, 06:06 AM
Thanks for your help Paul. That makes a lot of sense. I've been keeping this tank for about 3 months now, and the only thing I've changed since the initial set up were the lights from NO to HO. Hmmm... I wonder what the cause of this mysterious pH decrease is then.. I use straight tap water with Seachem Safe only. No Discus or Acid buffers or anything like that. My tap water comes out with a pH of 7.6 and does not change when aged for 48 hours. Anyone have any ideas of why my pH dropped? I am completely bewildered at this point

pcsb23
02-07-2012, 07:08 AM