PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Discus advice

Kinger
02-09-2012, 01:33 AM
Hey everyone!

I'm new to the site but am very eager to start a discus tank! I've been keeping fish for about 2 years and have had a small 20 Gal community tank and later upgraded to a 75 African Cichlid tank. I now have a fairly heavily planted 75Gal tank with a few rummynose tetras and Siamese Algae eaters (past BB algea problems) and am now ready to get serious about buying discus.

I am not to sure about the ideal requirements for Discus. I know they need warmer temperatures and lower pH's but Im not quite sure if there is a set number that works well. I am also curious as to what routines people have to ensure their discus remain happy and healthy. Also, how many discus would could a 75G hold and does it matter what types I stock my tank with?

If there is anything you could tell me or suggest I do that would be incredibly helpful. :)

-Mac

yim11
02-09-2012, 01:49 AM
Welcome to the forum Mac!

I'll give you some quick personal opinions and I'm sure the great folks on the forum will supply you with a lot more info and details!

Discus do need warmer temps, 82+, don't worry about pH unless you plan to keep wilds, don't shoot for a specific number, shoot for a steady number. Discus love lots of clean warm water - as much as you can give them, as often as you can give them. If you plan to keep them in a planted tank you should consider starting with larger fish (5"+).

HTHs,
-jim

Orange Crush
02-09-2012, 03:46 AM
6 discus would be the ideal # to keep in a 75 G if you already have smaller fish in there. Less than 6 can result in aggression issues - they are cichlids after all!

CajunAg
02-09-2012, 03:55 AM
My best piece of advice is however much time and effort you put into making the tank perfect, put the same amount into how you are going to change the water :)

discuspaul
02-09-2012, 06:00 PM