PDA

View Full Version : So I got this discus

TexasDiscus!!
03-01-2012, 11:01 PM
And I am convinced he is still growing. When I got him he was just a little thing. He has bulked up and is defiantly getting bigger. I do my 1 time weekly 40% changed on my 150g tank. I know it could be more often and should be, but I don't have the time. I do feed them 4 times daily as well.
I can tell he is growing by how he looks next to his counterparts. So I got a couple questions.

Is it sort of stunted?
What kind of discus is it?
Can I expect it to grow bigger like 4-5 inches?

Can u tell I am a newb?
Still learning how to tell what looks good/ great in a discus fish

Addictedtodiscus
03-01-2012, 11:05 PM
You've got quite a few discus to be a noob. I too am one, so im waiting on people to answer your questions...=DD

warblad79
03-02-2012, 01:17 AM
It's hard to see the picture

Skip
03-02-2012, 08:56 AM
looks like a blue turq..

wc once weekly. in a planted tank.. and you are trying to grow out.. and you did not say what size it was.. if it already has that kind of color and it less then 4"..

and look to eye/body ratio.. i would say.. it is stunted and would not grow much more..

Jason K.
03-02-2012, 09:06 AM
Eye color is off also... rather dark, should be red.

TexasDiscus!!
03-03-2012, 10:53 AM
looks like a blue turq..

wc once weekly. in a planted tank.. and you are trying to grow out.. and you did not say what size it was.. if it already has that kind of color and it less then 4"..

and look to eye/body ratio.. i would say.. it is stunted and would not grow much more..

So right now this guy is about 2.5-3 inches. I'm not necessarily trying to grow him out, but I would like to see it get bigger.
If it would be worth it, I could move him to my 20g qt tank. It would be easier to do daily wc and feed him exclusively. But then he'd be by himself. :(