PDA

View Full Version : Okay.. a total newb ?

Teshi
03-08-2012, 12:21 PM
What is a stunted discus? And how do you identify one?

zimmjeff
03-08-2012, 12:36 PM
It is a discus that had inferior care during the early part of it's life and did not reach full potential. A small for it's age fish that has large eyes and small size. They can still be healthy and have good color but will never look like a full grown discus should.

seanyuki
03-08-2012, 12:37 PM
Just sharing.....Walter has an article about discus....what not to buy.

http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?46982-What-not-to-buy

hth

Teshi
03-08-2012, 04:29 PM
Thanks for sharing the "what not to buy" link. It really made me more aware of issues with fish. BUT now I am paranoid that I am stunting my own fish. They don't eat much at all. I've tried FDBW, Frozen brine shrimp, and Discus Bio-Gold. After I feed them they just hang out at the bottom of the tank behind a piece of driftwood. After about an hour of me adding the food to the tank the wonder out and start picking at the gravel. I use a cone thingy to put the FDBW and the shrimp in. Anytime I go anywhere near the tank and they dart right back off behind the driftwood. I've been feeding them 3x a day on days I work and 4x on days I don't. There is no way they eat all of what i feed. I do daily PWC of about 35% of a 55gal tank. I've had the fish a week today.

moon_knight1971
03-08-2012, 04:47 PM
Just be patient. It can take a while for them to get comfortable with you and their new surroundings. Try not turning on the tank lights for a few weeks and be sure to siphon up any uneaten food after an hour. If you find they are not eating much cut back on the food and raise the temp to 86 - 88 to help encourage their appetite and adapt accordingly.

Joey

Teshi
03-08-2012, 04:51 PM