PDA

View Full Version : Just starting, have a few questions

Steve_B
03-12-2012, 12:45 PM
1) Please Introduce your self and tell us what your experience is with fishkeeping, give us as much information as possible as to how long in the hobby, what you have kept in the past and what you currently are working with.

Hey there SD, my name is Steve and I have been lurking on this forum for about 3 months, devouring all the information I can find about the hobby of keeping discus. I'm on the path to getting discus, I have wanted to keep them for about 5 years now and am finally in a position to do so. I have been keeping fish on and off for around 20 years, I have kept many different varieties of live bearers (platties, swordtails, guppies, mollies), African cichlids, angelfish, oscars, piranha, and pleco's. Currently I have a 30gal setup with tiger/green barbs and black/white skirt tetras, and my future discus tank which I recently acquired, a 80Gal tank that came with some rather large goldfish/pondfish.

2) If you have no previous experience with keeping discus, have you done any research to properly prepare yourself, e.g. have you read any Stickies in this section of SimplyDiscus, or other material?

As stated above I have read a lot of the information available on this site, it has been very informative and helped me make decisions thus far.

3) Describe your tank, its size and dimensions, breeding or display. Include how long it has been setup or if it is still being cycled.

As above, I acquired this tank after doing some research, hearing that bigger is better, I ended up picking up a 80gal setup from a friends parents that were looking to get rid of it.

Dimensions:
4' long
16 1/8" wide
2' tall

this tank is located in the living room as display. It has been setup for about a month now, and is cycling (just had the nitrite spike, ammonia is dropping, and nitrates are now rising)