PDA

View Full Version : A couple of questions

Swancici
03-16-2012, 04:38 AM
I have a 120 gallon( not set up yet) but I am going to have it densely planted with real and fake.
I want...
-20 cardinal tetras
-20 rummynose tetras
-10 bleeding heart tetras
Can discus go with these if the temp is around 80-82? Or will the tetras die and to cold for discus? Also do discus eat tetras? I'm new to discus and would love have some how can I go abbot this and what are some fish that can go with discus? Corydoras? Also what's a good ph and ect. Thanks

Orange Crush
03-16-2012, 06:04 AM
Discus need their tank to be at least 82, 80 is not good.
I do not have any experience of the compat. of those tetras with discus personally but I know many people do keep cardinal and rummys with their discus.
Discus are cichlids and will try to eat fish/shrimp that will fit into their mouths but I do not know about them trying to eat those tetras. Hopefully someone with 1st hand experience can help you with that question.
Corys (some anyways like the Sterbai) go great with discus, I have sterbai in the tank with my discus right now and they were easily accepted by the discus and vica versa. Bristle nose plecos, German Blue Rams and other SA dwarf cichlids (like Apistos) also go well with discus.
Discus want stability in their water perams. Ideally they want soft acidic water but trying to get your water to meet that with chemicals like pH up/down and what not is a bad idea because you will get pH fluctuations and they cannot tolerate that very well. It is better to have consistant 8.2pH with hard GH. However, if water is very hard, has a high pH or has nastys in it some people will use a combo of RO/tap, and on a rare occasion straight RO, to adjust it but unless you are breeding for most people RO is unnecessary.