PDA

View Full Version : How to set up a discus tank

Swancici
03-16-2012, 10:16 AM
I have a 120 gallon (49x31.5x18) with a fluval fx5.
1. How would I set up the filter in there is it to strong?
2. Air stones? Or how to make oxygenationg?
3. I'm a beginner so should I leave it bare bottom as I would love black sand?
4. Can I have done fake plants? Or a couple real ones?
5. I would like
-15 cardinal tetras
-15 rummynose tetras
-10 bleeding heart tetras
-15 panda Corydoras.
Would that be ok?
6. How many could I add of discus?
7. Pros and cons of a discus tank.
8. Water chemistry like ph ect with discus and tetras also temp?
9. Could I add driftwood or wood?
Thanks I would really appreciate the help and knowledge

Skip
03-16-2012, 10:18 AM
what is your budget for discus livestock?

Swancici
03-16-2012, 10:26 AM
Unlimited.

Swancici
03-16-2012, 10:33 AM
Unlimited

judy
03-16-2012, 10:38 AM
Read the many threads on this forum, especially the stickies. That is what they are there for. The information in them will answer all your questions.

Lenin
03-16-2012, 10:40 AM
Oh, that's easy then, go to a local LFS, give them 5K to start with, tell them what you want to do and to get the biggest fish from Hans, and you should be good.

Skip
03-16-2012, 10:46 AM
SWEET! well get ADULT FISH for sure!! 12-13 @100-150 a pop!

they will be lots more forgiving to any mistakes you make..

Swancici
03-16-2012, 10:48 AM
Thanks. But the reason why I ask so people can answer them so I don't have to look through them. But I might later. also 5k? Why would I do that? As I probably can only have 6 maybe and I want to start around 3inch and 6 ain't worth 5k unless there made of gold. Also what's a LF'S and who Hans?

darkknight87
03-16-2012, 10:54 AM
They were over exaggerating I think when they said 5K..when you say unlimited..for many of us if we had unlimited funds we would get top of the line everything we could