PDA

View Full Version : suspected fin rot on my discus, need help from the experts here

evilobster
03-16-2012, 08:51 PM
DISEASE QUESTIONNAIRE

good day all, as the topic states i think my discus has fin rot... info below:

Problem

1. Please explain the problems with your fish/when and how they started
i've had my discus for about six months, i'm new to keeping discus so theres a lot i still need to learn about them however i've been in and out of the aquatic hobby since i was a little kid. anyway, for the past 2-3 weeks some of my discus started becoming more shy and darkened in color. i figured that the fish was getting stressed so i ran tests on my water, everything was within normal limits except my phospates which were at 2 ppm. many waterchanges later i got back to that pristine water quality but the fish that were stressed seemed to still stay stressed. becoming darker and darker and more often than not hiding behind the plants. they also stopped coming up to greet me. i currelntly have a 135 gallon tank with 7 discus ranging from 2 in to 4 in (yes, i know i didn't do my research, you're not supposed to mix sizes) yesterday i isolated the fish that were described above to a hospital tank (20 gallon bb with a sponge filter)

2. Symptoms (i.e. turning dark, excess slime, not eating, clamped fins, flashing, darting, clamped gills, white/yellow/green poop, hiding, headstanding or tailstanding, white on tips of fins, rotting or fungus, blisters/ white zits on fish, bloated, cloudy eyes, wounds)

turning dark
clamped fins
rotting fins
poor appetite
discus doesn't come up to greet me or look for food :(

3. What medications/ treatments that you have already tried and results. Include dosages and duration of treatment.
only thing i have tried so far is to keep the water in optimal conditions

Tank/Water

4. Tank size and age, number and size of fish
135 planted, 6 months, 7 discus 2-4 in