PDA

View Full Version : Discus and UV Sterlizer..

Discus phobia
03-18-2012, 10:13 PM
Hi,
This is my first time On the forum. I have a 54 gallon corner aquarium with 4 mid size discus, 10 Rummynose, 12 Cardinals, 2 Cory's, 3 Pristella tetras, 2 black mollies, 1 red platy..Rena Xp2, Eheim 2217 canisters doing their job in maintaining the filtration..

I have been lately reading about UV sterlizers for Discus aquariums..while most of the reviews talk about cleaning the green algae and also used mostly for ponds, can someone pls advise if investing in a good quality UV sterlizer help for my discus aquariums to ensure its free of any parasites and help keep water clean. I do understand that the frequent water changes are a must which I try and ensure fifty percent once a week..

Appreciate some guidance. Thanks

-gb-
03-18-2012, 11:30 PM
some good info: http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?88772-uv-sterillizer...good-ir-bad-idea

lane mechtel
03-19-2012, 05:30 PM
In my experience they work great for algae control. I had a current uv 25watt with a flow rate at 4 gallons per hour per watt. the tank did not have any fewer problems than any other tank I ever had.here is some more good info http://www.americanaquariumproducts.com/AquariumUVSterilization.html

-gb-
03-19-2012, 06:21 PM
That's a great link Lane. Very detailed look at UV.

discuspaul
03-19-2012, 06:44 PM
I run a UV 24/7 in my discus tank, and have done so for over a year. The Submariner.
It not only removes algae (i.e. all the algae I can get into the water column - not that difficult to do), but greatly assists with water clarification, provides extra oxygenation and water circulation without being a problem for the discus, and claims it eradicates harmful pathogens too.(However, of course, I have no evidence of the latter.)
Can be a little costly for bulbs running 24/7, but I do get about 3,000 hours or so from a bulb.

Discus phobia
03-19-2012, 10:18 PM