PDA

View Full Version : a few questions about keeping discus

lilit
03-22-2012, 12:33 AM
hi everyone

i am new in keeping discus. i have a 200Litre tank (55gallon) with 5 small discus, a school of tetras and a whiptail catfish. the tap water where i live is above 8 ph and is really hard. so i bought seachem discus buffer. does anyone have any experience with using this product? im having trouble keeping the ph/hardness stable..is that because i just started using it and it needs a bit of time to stabilize. im aware that discus are able to live in hard alkaline water but i want to eventually breed them so i rather have the right water conditions. ive also read that soft water is really unpredictable in its ph because it has no buffering capacity, so does using the seachem discus buffer prevent ph crashes?

my 2nd question is how do you maintain your plants? i have anubias, swords, vals, java ferns. these plants are meant to be the easier ones to care for but they all seem to be dieing except for the anubias. i dont use plant fertilizer and i dont want to. would you recommend a DIY c02 system?

what is peat moss. is it a plant that you put in your filter. i cant find it at my local aquarium stores. or is it a bit like carbon where you need to replace it every few weeks? does anyone use mopani wood? how much does it help? how much of it would i need to have for a 200L tank.

thank you :) any other comments welcome

peglegderek
03-22-2012, 12:56 AM
i have used discus buffer before when i set my tank up it worked well i use RO water now and i dont nead to use it anymore as the water stays at a low PH "low 6's" I also use Peat granules in my filter it helps soften the water a bit and puts tanins in the water to give it that natural look! i think fluval or ehiem puts it out i forgot what the manufacturer was.make sure you have a decent plant lighting system for your tank also! thats what i do others will probably have diferent recomendations.

Orange Crush