PDA

View Full Version : Help With New Tank

Poco
04-08-2012, 11:09 AM
Greetings all,

I have been keeping fish off and on for about 10 years. You can say I have some experience with freshwater fish having kept angels, cichlids, koi (in pond) and some live bearers. Now I have decided to try my luck with king of the aquarium, Discus of course

In the past couple of months I have been researching extensively. I have to say SD is the most valuable resource I have found, not only due to the excellent post/thread but due to wealth of knowledge that all of you are willing to share. Hands down it is the best, especially for someone like me who is venturing into the unknown.

I have decided to go with a 90g BB tank and need your help to decide what equipment to go with.

Below is my shortlist, your views/recommendations please

HOB Filter - 2 x Aqua Clear 110

Nitrate Filter - Aquaripure Medium (50-130g)

Heater - 2 x Eheim Jager Submersible Aquarium Heater 250 watt

pH Tester - Hanna Instruments HI 98103B
or HI 98128W pH and Temperature Tester

TDS Meter - Hanna Primo Conductivity TDS

I need your help with what to use for;

Temperature readings - alcohol based or digital

Best for checking levels of Ammonia, Nitrites and Nitrates

Thanks.

tonytheboss1
04-08-2012, 03:19 PM
:bandana: I imagine a digital thermometer will be a tad more accurate. (+/- 1-2 degrees). As to chkng the parameters, my trusty API master liquid test kit hasn't failed me yet. Salifert makes individual tests for a number of different parameters. They're good but pricey. "T"

Poco
04-08-2012, 03:56 PM
Thanks Tony

Mep1127
04-08-2012, 03:59 PM
You seem to have good stuff so far. I use an API freshwater master test kit to check water parameters. I also use a sybon digital thermometer to see my water temps. Its pretty accurate and easy to read when you approach the tank. You should avoid the dip stick test strips for water... they are very inaccurate. Good luck in your discus keeping!