PDA

View Full Version : How to Disinfect a Discus Tank

Kal-El
04-20-2012, 12:10 PM
Newbie here... I move my two discus out of the main tank into a QT tank to recover from their infection of Heximita. How do I go about disinfecting the tank and cleaning it. There's no other fish in the tank. Should I use bleach? Any suggestion will help. (65gallon Tank)

strawberryblonde
04-20-2012, 01:27 PM
Yep, bleach works very well! First, scrub the tank well, then drain, refill with cold water, add bleach and let it sit for at least an hour. Then drain, rinse, rinse, rinse and refill, add at least a double dose of dechlorinator and let it sit again. Once that's done, drain, refill with warmish water and use double dechlor again. By then use shouldn't smell any chlorine at all in the tank. If you do, lather, rinse and repeat the rinse/dechlorinator routine till the smell is gone.

If you have decor, gravel, etc you'll need to bleach those as well and then dechlorinate them. You'll also need to clean the filters. For the filters I prefer to bomb them in a small bucket using metro. Just hook them up and let them run. Be sure to add either a small dose of pure ammonia each day in order to keep the beneficial bacteria alive. Oh and don't forget to bleach heaters! If you use an airstone, toss is out and buy a new one, then add new airline tubing.

Teshi
04-20-2012, 01:32 PM
does this destroy the BB in the filter? I've never had to do this but would like to know in case I ever do.

Kal-El
04-20-2012, 01:36 PM