PDA

View Full Version : Benefits of Aquascaping

michael.leerak
06-08-2012, 01:27 AM
I am new to discus - bought my first group of 7 juveniles 3 months ago. I read all I could about discus care before getting into it, and I have about 10 years of experience fish-keeping prior to discus.

When I read about raising discus most of the advice was to have a bare-bottom tank with minimal aquascaping. So I understood the reasoning behind this, and went a long with the advice. For the first 3 months of raising my discus I did regular water changes, vacuumed uneaten food and waste nearly every day. My tank was empty except for a large rock in the center and two hydro 4 sponge filters on either corner.

During this time my discus stayed on one half of the tank, literally never venturing to the other side. They regularly hid behind my sponge filter when they weren't eating, and had a poor appetite with most foods I tried to feed (especially sinking pellets which I would usually end up just vacuuming out uneaten). Despite this behavior they have all survived and are growing at a healthy rate (about 1" per month) expect for a few stragglers who haven't grown quite as much - which is to be expected raising a group as I understand.

Well last week I broke down and couldn't stand my bare tank any longer. I went out and got myself a bunch of manzanita wood and decorated the entire tank with it. Since then my discus have been swimming all over the tank, they never hide behind my sponge filters anymore. They're very brave and social, and are no longer spooked by my presence or the aquarium lighting. The best part is that their appetite has changed incredibly - what I used to have to vacuum up uneaten is now devoured in minutes!!!