PDA

View Full Version : Chicken breast vs. Beef heart

Tucciim
06-13-2012, 07:40 PM
Given the nutritional value of chicken breast vs beef heart why isn't chicken breast the protein of choice for discus?

A 1oz portion of beef heart had 1.1g of fat and 5g of protein.

A 1oz portion of skinless chicken breast had .9g of fat and 6.5g of protein.

dprais1
06-13-2012, 07:42 PM
trim the beefheart really well then remeasure the fat and protein content. your current figures do not reflect trimmed beefheart is my guess.

moon_knight1971
06-13-2012, 08:33 PM
Does the meat have to be put through a blender or a processor? If the pieces are small enough can it be grinded up in a blender if you do not have a food processor?

LizStreithorst
06-13-2012, 09:07 PM
I don't know the answer to that. Discus people seem to be in love with beefheart. I've been feeding 99% fat free turkey breast for several years. I find it preground at the supermarket. It's great and it's easy. I've posted this before. No one ever picks up on it.

JenTN
06-13-2012, 09:09 PM
http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?t=94394

http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?t=69079

TNT77
06-13-2012, 09:09 PM
I don't know the answer to that. Discus people seem to be in love with beefheart. I've been feeding 99% fat free turkey breast for several years. I find it preground at the supermarket. It's great and it's easy. I've posted this before. No one ever picks up on it.
Mama bear speaks and I listen. :) I use 99% fat free turkey in my frozen mix and have exceptional results.

dprais1
06-13-2012, 09:10 PM
Josie also uses turkey and I did as well. Great alternative for people that don't believe in using cow as food. I use beefheart flake now but don't tell my wife.

JenTN
06-13-2012, 09:10 PM

I have :-p , in fact I've been marinating on it since I read it. Gonna try it as soon as bh runs out.

JenTN
06-13-2012, 09:13 PM