PDA

View Full Version : Is this video true?

Luis138
06-26-2012, 03:45 PM
So I want to set up a discus tank. I will setting up this tank in about a year or so, in the meantime I am trying to absorb all kind of information. Since I am a beginner I will be getting semi adult discus, don't want to risk stunting or killing my less forgiving juveniles. About four years ago I attempted to keep discus and I made all the mistakes you could make. Bought only two, didn't make frequent water changes, attempted them in a planted tank, etc. Sadly my discus paid the price. I want to try them again but I want to do it 100% correct.

I came across this video on YouTube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqdrtVYBQDY&list=FLFX1wvZNvxial06PrVsBWFg&index=22&feature=plpp_video. At approximately the 5:00 minute mark he starts explaining about filtration and water changes. He states that with a refugium he has only done about 10 water changes in his 6 year old tank. This goes against everything I have learned here. So my questions are: 1) Did I understand the video incorrectly, 2) am I wrong in thinking that discus need a bigger, more frequent water change or 3) is he 100% correct?

Thank you all for your help,

Luis

Skip
06-26-2012, 03:58 PM
1. wrong
2. wrong
3. wrong
4. listen to what you know from SD..

Luis138
06-26-2012, 04:00 PM
That is what I though. Thank you for your answer.

Luis

JamesHe
06-26-2012, 04:20 PM
Can be done that way with certain hardy fish.
But definately not for Discus.

Lenin
06-26-2012, 04:21 PM
10 water changes in a 6 year old tank, is not acceptable for any kind of fish.

Skip
06-26-2012, 04:21 PM
Can be done that way with certain hardy fish.
But definately not for Discus.

SHOULD NEVER BE DONE!

fish need daily attention.. like dog, cats and birds.. IMHO!

JamesHe
06-26-2012, 04:30 PM
I watch the video. I don't think he said not to do water changes.