PDA

View Full Version : Water parameters questions

Paulsdiscus
07-02-2012, 06:10 PM
I have a few questions regarding some basic water parameters. I am fairly new to discus keeping but have had great success after some failings as a beginner. My questions are regarding PH, KH, and GH.

My setup.
50G bowfront aquarium.
Eheim 3ePro canister filter.
Marineland single bright LED lighting.
Aqueon pro heater set at 88 holding tank temp at 86.
Spectra Maxcap DI/RO filter using 80/20 tap mix.

Fish in aquarium.
5xdiscus aprox. 5" in length
1xPleco aprox. 6-7" in length (hard to measure he hides during the day for the most part and run when approached at night)
pretty heavy bio load I know but not what my question is about. The 5 discus pretty much school together and come and eat from my hand when feed except one that has always been shy.

Plants in aquarium.
2x anubias 7" tall
1x java ferm 5" tall
2x bacopa 4" tall
I add half a cap of Seachem Flourish each PWC.

Water parameters in tank currently 20 hours after last PWC. PWC's made everyday to every other at 20%. Water mix is aged overnight and heated to tanks level.

Ammonia=0
Nitrites=0
Nitrates=10-20 (hard for me to distringuish the color)
PH=7.0-7.2 (once again hard to tell exactly)
GH=3
KH=2
This is regarding a display tank as it is my only tank with discus in it.
My water used for PWC's are lower in GH and KH between 1-2 each. Ph is the same.

I have noticed this post over and over again.

PH
Display – 6.5 – 7.5
Breeding – 5.5 – 6.5
Grow-Out – 6.8 – 7.5

Hardness:
Display – 10–15 GH, 5-8 KH
Breeding – 1-4 GH, 0-1 KH
Growing-Out – 8-15 GH, 5-8KH