PDA

View Full Version : Discus tank rescape

Big-Ken
07-16-2012, 11:15 PM
Not real sure where to put this so since I'm a beginner this seems like a good place.

Removed my gravel and driftwood and added a thin later of pool filter sand. I'm really liking the simple "zen" scape, its not bare bottom but still easy to clean best of both worlds. What do you all think??

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xd9CN_hgahw&feature=youtube_gdata_player

discuspaul
07-16-2012, 11:27 PM
Hey, looks just fine.
The discus seem to like it !

Floppy Fin's
07-16-2012, 11:35 PM
Well.. gotta be honest here, IMO, it looks barren, and the discus like a bit of security foilage (breeders excepted perhaps. I like ths sand and rocks, but try putting some plastic plants in and your drift wood again.. It may help the decor.
Also.. that black background is iffy. Painted ?? Maybe a underwater scene of some sort. I hope this helps a bit from my side of the tank.. :-) And I want to see those babies when they grow up..
Floppy Fin's...

strawberryblonde
07-16-2012, 11:52 PM
Beautiful job! They look about 4"? You'll be amazed at how quickly they fill up that tank. =)

I don't think the tank looks barren at all and the fish don't look skittish, so they're obviously very content with their new surroundings. I love the way they swim back and forth in a little line. But what' up with that one who keeps lagging behind? LOL

Big-Ken
07-16-2012, 11:54 PM
When the wood was in they were skittish and always hid behind the wood now they interact with everyone. I really don't like backgrounds, especially in this tank. I want the discus to be the center of attention, the white sand reflects the light and makes them shine and glow against the black back.

Eventually I'll add some Manzanita, once they grow a bit and I'm not doing as many water changes

DiscusBR
07-17-2012, 12:02 AM
Looks great, but it would look much better with some Manzanita branches. Post some pics when you get the Manzanita.

TNT77