PDA

View Full Version : HELP Discus not eating ... but pairing and spawning....

jeromeit
07-27-2012, 11:43 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to discus keeping, I recently acquired 3x 5inch discus (PBxTefe green mix) about two weeks ago, they havnt eaten but 2 have paired up and have spawned on my driftwood. I've tried bloodworms, beef heart flakes and even live blackworms to no avail... nitrates are at 10-20ppm ammonia is 0 nitrites are 0.. ph is about 6.5-7(fluctuates because of co2).. My tank is a 72 gallon, heavily planted tank with tetras, cherry barbs and apistos... I change water weekly, about 50% each time... any help would be really appreciated. I'm concerned that if they don't eat, they'll wither away...

DiscusDrew
07-28-2012, 12:44 AM
They very well could wither away, I have a lot of concerns being that you're new to keeping discus.
1) A 50% water change once per week is insufficient, your first instinct with any discus having trouble should be to increase water changes, and to get that tank as clean as possible. 50% a day until you get those nitrates down preferably under 5 ppm. This is going to be hard on your plants potentially which is why most of us will not recommend doing planted or even substrate tanks when you're new to discus. That said, I've had new sub adult discus go some time without eating, especially if they are spawning but I still suspect things maybe aren't quite right...
Doing at LEAST three 50% water changes per week should be sufficient for your sub adults after they are settled in and behaving normal. Is there any other strange behavior? I.E. hiding, skittish, turning etc? If so please fill out the disease questionnaire in the disease section, if not we can continue this discussion here.