PDA

View Full Version : Getting my PH down (uk)

TerryP
08-24-2012, 05:18 AM
Hi guys I am fairly new to discus, I had nine of mixed size in 70gallon 388ltr, they started breeding in treated tap that had been lowered over time with sphagnum peat moss.
I've seen built a fish house but had no RO so I filled with tap and so on.....
I now have a RO unit with di resin ph comes out just over 6 I've changed two lots of 75ltr so 150ltr in a 60tr set up (half my set up) but I've only got it down too 7.2 ! I need it lower, will it come with more changes or do I just need to drain the whole lot ?!?!

Larry Bugg
08-24-2012, 08:35 AM
Why do you think you need it lower?

Poco
08-24-2012, 08:41 AM

Because I don't like my fish!

Seriously playing with pH will have disastrous consiquences. Discus like stable pH, big swings will end up killing them.

dpete9
08-24-2012, 08:41 AM
I was thinking the same.. Also out of curiosity what does a 60tr setup mean?

Darsenion
08-24-2012, 12:40 PM
I think he mean 60 ltr? And for reference I tried the whole playing with PH and it was not good. No loses but hard to keep it stable. I slowly raised the pH to water strait out of the tap with Prime and they are a whole lot healthier, not to mention less work ;)

TerryP
08-24-2012, 06:12 PM
It's a 600-800ltr breeding set up, that's why I am after a lower pH for breeding purpose.

Poco
08-24-2012, 06:53 PM
You can still breed with your tap water but your hatch rate will be a bit lower.

Moon
08-24-2012, 06:55 PM
No need to lower ph for breeding. Lower the hardness.

TerryP
08-24-2012, 07:24 PM
How do you lower each one indepently ??

Larry Bugg
08-24-2012, 07:32 PM
Well we don't know that his water is hard. 7.2 PH is perfectly fine for breeding. I wouldn't do a thing. Wait and see if there are any issues and then make a decision. Never mess with your water unless you really have to.

Trier20
08-24-2012, 09:50 PM
My ph is off the high ph test kit scale and mine breed fine.

Tommo
08-25-2012, 02:28 AM