PDA

View Full Version : Number of times you guys feed 2.5-3 inch discus?

Aznman1
09-21-2012, 01:04 PM
Hi guys I was wondering how many times a day you feed your 2-3 inch discus. I have 10 juvies right now in a 55. Anyway I do 50% water changes once a day and feed them 4 times. Just wanna make sure I'm doing everything right. I've kept wilds but this is my first try at juvenile domestics

John_Nicholson
09-21-2012, 01:06 PM
I normally 2 or maybe 3 times a day.

-john

Aznman1
09-21-2012, 01:16 PM
Ok thanks. Am I overfeeding by doing it 4 times a day?

Kal-El
09-21-2012, 01:25 PM
Ok thanks. Am I overfeeding by doing it 4 times a day?

No you are not. The more the better. I feed 5 times a day. Once at 7am, 11am, 3pm, 6pm, &9pm then 50% WC. On the weekends I feed 6-7 times since I'm home all day to clean after feeding. If you feed a lot you'll need to do daily WC.

Eddie
09-21-2012, 01:30 PM
I normally 2 or maybe 3 times a day.

-john

+1...and maybe once. LOL

Aznman1
09-21-2012, 02:09 PM
Alright thanks guys. I have them on angel plus' super color enhancing, BH, and Hi-Pro Growth flakes

BobDaniel
09-21-2012, 02:50 PM
I feed my seven at least ten times a day. I probably am overdoing it, but mine "seem" to have doubled in size in a month. They arrived as 2.5 inchers but honestly they were a bit bigger. Now most are pushing 4+ inches. I try to do two 80% water changes daily in my 75 gallon tank. A couple of them are turning out really nice.

Poco
09-21-2012, 02:56 PM
Mostly three times a day.

strawberryblonde
09-21-2012, 03:28 PM
5-6 times per day, depending on my schedule. I keep the meals fairly small and feel by doing it this way there's less leftovers hanging around. Mine, like Bob's are growing like weeds with this feeding plan. Started out at 4", the largest is now 7" and the smallest is 6". Oh sorry, took 2 1/2 months for them to reach that size.

John_Nicholson
09-21-2012, 03:50 PM