PDA

View Full Version : Water Changes - pre-processing water, Question as I am new to discus

tim_s
09-28-2012, 10:11 AM
Hi Everyone,

Hope everyone is doing well!

Intro

I have been within this hobby for over 10 years but this is my first discus tank. I have salt tanks excluding my 1 planted tank that I would like to add Discus.

My Tank

90 Gallons US Display Tank
30 Gallons US Sump
Danner Mag Drive pump at head height 5' turn 1050 Gal per hour measured by Flow Probe
Co2 pressurized system
-- Contemplating power heads

Prelude

Salt Process: Right now for my salt tanks, I am processing the water 24hrs before to match the PH.

How this applies: Out of tap my water is 7.5 PH and the rest point within the tank is 6.5 PH and thus we have a significant drop.

Question

When talking to the breeder, they are recommending weekly 75% water changes but since my Sump storage capacity is 30 G and my tank level is high for lighting I am literally going to be changing the water 90G of water a week! I cannot think of a way to pre-process the water of this magnitude.

Thoughts? - Am I taking a real risk with Discus?

nwehrman
09-28-2012, 01:58 PM
90 gallons of water is just two 55 gallon barrels (tie them together and it's 110 gallons available.) Not that hard to manage. That's what I started with.

Some people use large brute trash cans...with wheels.

Nicole

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

tim_s
09-28-2012, 03:18 PM
You must imagine I sit droolling in Home Depot as the wheels turn LOL

Yes! I know I can double the Brute bins -- I just do not have this space being I have built the tank into the wall!, I can plumb a brute bin into the system through the closet but I cannot get 2 bins side by side.

Before I went through this craziness I just wanted to make sure the process of storing water was required.

aquaworks1
09-28-2012, 05:17 PM