PDA

View Full Version : Do I need to age my water out of tap? (Water parameters listed)

mojosodope
09-30-2012, 01:30 PM
Hey guys I'm pretty new to discus and I have a question regarding my water parameters.

Using api gh/kh test kit, master test kit and digital ph tester (calibrated)

Out of the tap:
pH 7.5
KH 8 drops 143 ppm
GH 8 drops 143 ppm

Tank:
pH 8.2
KH 7 drops 125 ppm
GH 7 drops 125 ppm

I also did a test on a bare bottom 5 gallon I have and confirmed that the pH raises from 7.5 to 8.2. I had the 5 gallon tank heavily air rated with two airstones and it took about 20 minutes to raise the pH from 7.5 to 8.2 so I know nothing in my discus tank is buffering the pH.

Someone told me that its impossible that my pH raises out of the tap and it can only drop. Obviously this is not my case. My question is should I age my water before water changes? I have no problem buying two 55 gallon drums but if I can do a water change straight out the tap that would be great also. It's a 150 gallon, currently have 3 discus, picking some more up today and I dechlorinate with Prime, usually 2-3 capfuls with a daily 50-60% water change.

Thanks

Poco
09-30-2012, 01:36 PM
I would age water 0.7 is a big swing.

Second Hand Pat
09-30-2012, 01:37 PM
If it were me I would absolutely age my tap water with a pH change like you have. My pH changes from 7.4 out of tap to 8.2 in four hours with air. I would love to have the change complete over 20 mins as I could turn water over a lot faster if needed.

mojosodope
09-30-2012, 02:03 PM
Thanks for the quick responses guys

I would love to have the change complete over 20 mins as I could turn water over a lot faster if needed.

Yeah man keep in mind I did the test in a small 5 gallon so I would assume it would take a larger body of water longer to shift. Have you had any success breeding in 8.2?

Second Hand Pat
09-30-2012, 02:11 PM