ChicagoDiscus.com     AquaticSuppliers.com

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Cycling tank after disease breakout..................

  1. #1
    Registered Member jimmyjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    N. Ridgeville, Oh
    Posts
    922
    iTrader
    2 (100%)

    Default Cycling tank after disease breakout..................

    Hello all, I had a disease breakout in my tank where I lost most of my stock. What I want to know after bleaching out my tank to clean it, how long should I cycle the tank with hero fish before I add my discus that I want in the tank. Thanks Jim in Ohio

  2. #2
    Registered Member jimmyjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    N. Ridgeville, Oh
    Posts
    922
    iTrader
    2 (100%)

    Default Re: Cycling tank after disease breakout..................

    I guess I'm the only one this has ever happen too? Jim in Ohio

  3. #3
    Silver Member Iminit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    Long island
    Posts
    1,338
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Tom

    Default Re: Cycling tank after disease breakout..................

    Well I’d just cycle it like a new tank. Don’t need to use discus to cycle. You could use dither fish or do a fishless cycle with ammonia. Once tank is cycled add your discus slowly like 2 at a time and give each pair 3+ days before you add the next. Just test as you go.
    Sorry for the lost fish. Do you know what killed them?

  4. #4
    Registered Member bluelagoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Halifax,Canada
    Posts
    2,025
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Mervin

    Default Re: Cycling tank after disease breakout..................

    Usually 4-6 weeks. You can achieve an instant cycle if you had a cycled filter or squeeze a dirty sponge from another tank into the non cycled tank.

  5. #5
    Registered Member jimmyjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    N. Ridgeville, Oh
    Posts
    922
    iTrader
    2 (100%)

    Default Re: Cycling tank after disease breakout..................

    Quote Originally Posted by Iminit View Post
    Well I’d just cycle it like a new tank. Don’t need to use discus to cycle. You could use dither fish or do a fishless cycle with ammonia. Once tank is cycled add your discus slowly like 2 at a time and give each pair 3+ days before you add the next. Just test as you go.
    Sorry for the lost fish. Do you know what killed them?
    Jeep suggested that it was from cross contamination, adding new fish with out QT'ing Jim in Ohio

  6. #6
    Silver Member Iminit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    Long island
    Posts
    1,338
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Tom

    Default Re: Cycling tank after disease breakout..................

    Yes cc is pretty deadly! I did a thread about my recent bout with it. Even after qt ing both fish it still managed to spread to both my tanks. New fish never had a problem. I believed it was on my hands.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Cafepress