ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help Nitrite problem

Registered Member

Default Help Nitrite problem

I am new to discus, I have 2 adults and 3 juv in a 55 gallon tank with rock. (I know the rock has to go. How do I do it with them in tank?) My ph is 7, temp 87, ammonia 0, nitrite 2.0, no nitrate test, gh 6, kh 5. About a week ago my 4 year old dumped a whole container of tetra bits in the tank. I almost died. I did water change after water change for several days. It seemed to clear things up. My adult pair even spawned, except the male ate the eggs. First time to spawn. So I thought everything was okay. I usually change water 2-3 times a week 25%. I use tap water. I would like to get an r/o unit from what I have read on simply, but I don't know much about them or what I would need. To make a long story short, my fish are not eating good, last two days, since I did my last water change. My adult female has clamped fins and is dark. The juv usually eat out of my hand but are not even coming out. Help! Why is my nitrite just now coming up? I know I am going to start doing more water changes, but how much and how often? Any other suggestions? Could it be anything else. The adult female did have a white fuzzy spot on tail. But its gone now. I raised temp from 85 to 87. She is sometimes only using one fin.

Default Re:Help Nitrite problem

Hi Nicole, Welcome to our forum! and welcome to discus!!!

How long has your tank been set up?

for you to have Nitrites it would indicate to me that the bio filter is not quite cycled yet. Before you remove anything that may have good bacteria on it ...what kind of filter are you using?

can you increase your water changes to 50 % daily ? If you can it would help greatly with keeping the nitrites low while you are figuring out whats going on.

I would also add 1-2 tablespoons of salt to the tank.... it protects against Nitrite poisoning.