ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Angel Fish experts - Help needed

Default Angel Fish experts - Help needed

I have some F1 scalare angels and I need help to determine the sex of them. I have 6 in total, looks like at least 4 have paired off, but how do you tell which is which if you have never seen them lay eggs??

Any help is appreciated.
    Paul

Comfortably numb.

Default Re: Angel Fish experts - Help needed

I'm fairly new to Angels, but IME the females are slightly smaller and more elegant looking. The males have a somewhat of a cichlid hump which to me makes them appear a bit course. HTH.
    Mama Bear

Quote Originally Posted by LizStreithorst View Post
    I'm fairly new to Angels, but IME the females are slightly smaller and more elegant looking. The males have a somewhat of a cichlid hump which to me makes them appear a bit course. HTH.
    I had been told that by someone, didn't know if it was right, soooo in the pics the first one is male? and the second female?

What happens if there is no hump?? is the hump always there? Sorry if these are dumb Q's but...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Paul

Comfortably numb.

Real Name
    Stud Muffin

Hey Paul

yes, definately male in the first, female in the second.

Tony
    The problem with people idiot proofing things, is the resulting evolution of the idiot....

I ain't no expert but I agree with Beth.
    Mama Bear

Thanks, Beth, Tony & Liz.
    Paul

Comfortably numb.

Registered Member

What happens if there is no hump?? is the hump always there?
    tuch, tuch - humps on males - are there humps on discus!!??

Paul, an old guy at Arundel Aquatics, and he picked me many pairs long ago, said look at them head on - female has slightly rounded abdomen and 'wider ventrals' and the male is, just like in the human race, more slender lol!!! I'm sure there was more to it than that but give it a go - if they're mature it'll work as it does in discus